Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

Getting started with a Blackmagic product? Ask questions here about setup and installation.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 1:58 pm

Hi I decided to buy a davinci resolve studio license, I contacted the seller closest to me, ADCOM and they told me that I can choose to buy version 16 or version 17.
I am wondering about the 17 studio version and a beta right?
So it's not perfect yet, so maybe it's better to buy davinci resolve studio 16 for now, and later I'll switch to version 17 when it's safer and hassle-free.
What do you recommend?
thanks.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 3:02 pm

[quote="Erik Muraro"]Hi I decided to buy a davinci resolve studio license, I contacted the seller closest to me, ADCOM and they told me that I can choose to buy version 16 or version 17.
I am wondering about the 17 studio version and a beta right?
So it's not perfect yet, so maybe it's better to buy davinci resolve studio 16 for now, and later I'll switch to version 17 when it's safer and hassle-free.
What do you recommend?
thanks.[/quot

Don't know why your seller said such a thing? I would check if he is an authorized dealer because from an authorized dealer you will get a free speed editor console worth $295.00 free when you purchase the software. If he doesn't have this offer he is not an authorized dealer. Wherever you buy get version 16 and then upgrade without cost to 17

Ricardo Marty
Resolve 16, Abelton, Focusrite,
Inspiron 5675 1800x 8/16 core, Radeon RX580/8,16 GB ram, 512 sd, 500 Samsung Pro ssd.
Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processort, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6gb, 16gb ram, 512 nvme sd.
Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600.
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 3:06 pm

You are right, in fact I will have the speed controll as a gift as you say, the dealer is authorized and this in the link below.


https://www.adcom.it/it/software/compos ... 1194_54258

Maybe I misunderstood me, anyway thanks for your advice now I understand
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 4:19 pm

sorry but studio version 16 I can't find the download!
only I find for the studio version resolve 17!
why? thanks
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 392
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSat Nov 21, 2020 7:28 pm

cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/wingsX1 2TB 970evoplus/titanridgeTB3/HP1344/Radeon VII
Pocket4k speedbooster ultra
macOS 10.14.6 and macOS 11
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 8:08 am

Mark Foster wrote:https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/family/davinci-resolve-and-fusion

and scroll down



thanks
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 2:29 pm

I downloaded the file from the link you sent me, then I installed davinci resolve studio 16 but when I open it it asks me for the serial.
So I have to buy the license first and then enter the right serial?
I would like to know on how many PCs can I still use the serial?
And how many times can I deactivate and reactivate the serial?
For example, if I change the pc, or the SSD disk where windows 10 is installed fails or I want to format and install windows 10 from scratch and then davinci resolve studio 16.
For example on edius 8 pro, I can deactivate and reactivate the license for 5 or 6 times and then I get blocked and it doesn't work anymore, I have to call support and request the resetting of the use of the licenses.
Does this also work with davinci resolve studio 16?
thanks
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 392
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 5:33 pm

yes, you need the lisence (serial number) to start the studio version

you can use this number at 2 computer at the same time
if you enter the serial on a third computer, the first will not start
again so long you aktivate it again, and the second go down.

this game has no limit my knowledge
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/4x4TB HGST/SSD7101A 4x2TB 970evoplus/HP1344/BMD4k/Radeon VII
cMP 5.1 2x3,46/96GB/2x2TB 860pro/wingsX1 2TB 970evoplus/titanridgeTB3/HP1344/Radeon VII
Pocket4k speedbooster ultra
macOS 10.14.6 and macOS 11
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostMon Nov 23, 2020 5:36 pm

thanks ;)
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline
User avatar

Erik Muraro

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 4:24 pm
  • Location: Trieste Italy
  • Real Name: erik muraro

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostThu Nov 26, 2020 8:11 am

Excuse a question, when I buy the serial and I will activate resolve studio 16, then should I update immediately to the studio version 17?

or being a beta is it better to wait a little longer?

thanks.
I7 4790K-32gb ram-GTX 1660super 6gb-Windows10-Lumix FX1000-
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostThu Nov 26, 2020 3:34 pm

Erik Muraro wrote:Excuse a question, when I buy the serial and I will activate resolve studio 16, then should I update immediately to the studio version 17?

or being a beta is it better to wait a little longer?

thanks.


yes, you can activate any DRV from ver, 14 to seventeen and probably newer ones.

Ricardo Marty
Resolve 16, Abelton, Focusrite,
Inspiron 5675 1800x 8/16 core, Radeon RX580/8,16 GB ram, 512 sd, 500 Samsung Pro ssd.
Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processort, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6gb, 16gb ram, 512 nvme sd.
Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600.
Offline

ricardo marty

  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:03 am

Re: Davinci resolve studio 16 vs 17?

PostThu Nov 26, 2020 3:35 pm

Erik Muraro wrote:Excuse a question, when I buy the serial and I will activate resolve studio 16, then should I update immediately to the studio version 17?

or being a beta is it better to wait a little longer?

thanks.


yes, you can activate any DRV from ver, 14 to seventeen and probably newer ones.

Ricardo Marty
Resolve 16, Abelton, Focusrite,
Inspiron 5675 1800x 8/16 core, Radeon RX580/8,16 GB ram, 512 sd, 500 Samsung Pro ssd.
Lenovo 7i15, i7-10750H Processort, 6 Cores, Nvidia 2060 6gb, 16gb ram, 512 nvme sd.
Sony FS700R, Bmp4k, Sony A6600.

Return to Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests